Partner // University of Applied Sciences Dortmund
Fh dortmund hero

University of Applied Sciences Dortmund

We are a university of applied sciences and arts with deep roots and commitments in the region, but with an international focus at the same time. Through our numerous national and international R&D projects, we stimulate innovation in the region and see ourselves as a driver of structural change. We see research as the search for knowledge with practical applications cooperating across different fields with actors from the industry and society. The key feature of our work is the inseparability of teaching and research.

The University of Applied Sciences and Arts Dortmund has almost 13,500 students and more than 250 professors, and is thus one of the biggest universities in North-Rhine-Westphalia. The study and research possibilities are wide-ranging and cover areas like engineering, social sciences, economics, architecture and design. The activities of the university at all levels are guided by our four strategic objectives: appeal and sustainability, quality, applicability and regional networking.
Quotation marks

"The University of Applied Sciences and Arts Dortmund sees itself both as a university with deep regional ties and as an internationally open teaching and research institution, always engaged on the ongoing search for new knowledge and solutions in the most relevant areas of research. In the process, it assumes the role of eyes and ears for the region and becomes a driving force for innovation, especially for SMEs.”

Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Schwick, Rector Dortmund University of Applied Sciences and Arts

Our core competencies

Family-friendly university
Dortmund University for Applied Sciences and Arts is a certified family-friendly university since 2008. Since then, we have been re-audited twice and family-friendly policy is enshrined in our mission statement and our agreement on objectives. Family-friendly policy is written into the university statutes and organisation and our objective is to make it a part of the day-to-day university culture.
Diversity
Besides teaching and research, the university has a social mandate to fulfil in the area of integration in its capacity as a public educational institution. The demographic development in the Ruhr region represents an especial challenge for universities and we have actively integrated this self-evident social mandate into our daily work. It is in our interest to win more women and more students with migrant background, especially for technical subjects, technical research projects and as employees. At the same time, this contributes to our goal of growing internationalisation. Diversity, though, has not only pragmatic motives; it is also a way to broaden individual horizons and to create an interesting work and learning climate by placing plurality and multiplicity in the foreground.
Doctoral Academy
The doctoral academy was founded in 2016 in order to provide a lasting contribution to the improvement of doctoral research in all areas of study. The need for structural and systematic support for everyone involved in doctoral research was evident because of the growing number of joint PhDs. The doctoral academy is a cross-faculty platform, which provides support to all doctoral students, tutors and students interested in doctoral research. The main task of the academy is to conceptually support and advance doctoral projects by means such as workshops and courses to optimise the planning process of a doctoral project or to improve methodical competences. The doctoral academy cooperates with the Graduierteninstitut NRW.
Teaching
The university offers 36 bachelor and 19 master programmes, from which 4 are dual programmes and 3 are international programmes. The programme offer is always being developed and diversified, content-wise and structurally, in order to keep pace with socioeconomic and individual demands, and especially to appeal to candidates with varying social conditions. For this reason, the university executed a paradigm change, “from teaching to learning”, and created the required infrastructure, including the didactic and organisational requirements.
Research and transfer
Thanks to its size, the university serves as a driving force for the region through its numerous research and transfer projects.
Internationalisation
The university sees itself as a large, regional institution in an international educational, professional and research landscape, as Dortmund’s window to the world and as a place to live and experience internationality in Dortmund.
Equality
Equal treatment is a horizontal objective of the university, which defines quality in teaching, research and service.

Partners in the projects

Amalthea4public logo

AMALTHEA4public

The AMALTHEA4public project—funded through the European ITEA2 programme—works on software...
Logo guidedal

Guided Autonomous Locations

Guided AL addresses the development of a web based smart service platform for autonomous,...
Grafik emel deutsch  hero image

EMEL: Energy Management in Metropolitan eMobility-Charging Infrastructures

The extensive use of electric vehicles in metropolitan regions faces the same dilemma as electric...
Sense logo

SENSE: semantic, interoperable Smart Home

Current smart home products and components interact mostly in a limited way within specified...
Grafik geosmagrir englisch2

GeoSmaGriR: Smart Solar Geothermal Energy Grid Ruhr

Flexible and decentralised feed of solar and geother­mal heat into heat networks using existing...
Am8884

Management Project: ruhrvalley Management Office

The Management Office is the joint, cross-university institution that organises the integrative...

ZIM ORC

ZIM ORC is developing a small power plant for the production of electricity, heating and cooling...
Fhimpuls tile

"FH-Impuls" ruhrvalley

ruhrvalley is the beginning of the transdisciplinary and cross-sectoral centre of excellence for...
Dsc 0036b

NetLab: Networked Development and Testing Laboratory

Developing a decentralised test and development system for complex technological systems
Guidedab both

Guided Autonomic Building

Guided Autonomic Building addresses the collaborative development of intelligent autonomous...
Rms both

Ruhr Master School

At Ruhr Master School of Applied Engineering (RMS) you can benefit from the diversity of...
Edema both

EDEMA

Get the dishes done or the clothes washed when electricity is cheapest? Combined heat and power...
Grafik sime englisch

SiME: System Innovation for Mobility and Energy in the Metropolis

Develop a holistic approach to a viable future energy and mobility system, using the Ruhr...
Szenario gesamt neu 01

ZIM Digital Road

ZIM digital road develops high-performance sensor technology with cloud-based real-time data...

Partner // Fachhochschule Dortmund

Fachhochschule Dortmund

Wir sind eine anwendungsorientierte Hochschule mit regionaler Einbindung und Verantwortung bei gleichzeitig internationaler Ausrichtung. Mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen F&E-Projekten bringen wir Innovationsimpulse in die Region und begreifen uns als Motor des Strukturwandels. Forschung verstehen wir als anwendungsorientierten Erkenntnisgewinn in transdisziplinärer Kooperation mit Akteuren aus Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Kennzeichnend für unsere Arbeit ist die Einheit von Lehre und Forschung.

Die Fachhochschule Dortmund gehört mit ca. 13.500 Studierenden und mehr als 250 Professorinnen und Professoren zu den größten Fachhochschulen in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Sie bietet mit ihrem breiten Fächerspektrum in den Ingenieur-, Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften bis hin zur Architektur und dem Fachbereich Design ein hervorragendes Lehr- und Forschungsumfeld. Sie lässt sich auf allen Handlungsebenen von vier strategischen Zielen leiten: Attraktivität und Zukunftsfähigkeit, Qualität, Anwendungsbezug und regionale Vernetzung.
Quotation marks

Die Fachhochschule Dortmund versteht sich als regional verankerte Hochschule mit einer international offenen Lehr- und Forschungsausrichtung. Sie ist kontinuierlich auf der systematischen Suche nach neuesten Erkenntnissen und Lösungsansätzen zu aktuellsten Forschungsbereichen. Dabei übernimmt sie eine Antennenfunktion für die Region und wird – insbesondere für KMU – zum Impulsgeber bei der Entwicklung von Innovationen.

Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Schwick, Rektor der Fachhochschule Dortmund

Unsere Kernkompetenzen

Familiengerechte Hochschule
Die Fachhochschule Dortmund ist seit 2008 zertifiziert als familiengerechte Hochschule. Sie ist seither zweimal re-auditiert worden und hat Familienfreundlichkeit in ihrem Leitbild und in Zielvereinbarungen verankert. Familienfreundlichkeit ist Teil der Hochschulverfassung und -organisation. Sie auch zum jederzeit erlebbaren Bestandteil der Hochschulkultur zu machen, ist das Ziel.
Diversity
Neben Lehre und Forschung erfüllt die Fachhochschule Dortmund als staatliche Hochschule den gesellschaftlichen Auftrag der Integration. Sie ist, wie alle Hochschulen im Ruhrgebiet aufgrund der demographischen Entwicklung mit einer besonderen Situation konfrontiert und nimmt bereits heute diese gesellschaftspolitische Aufgabenstellung selbstverständlich in ihrem Alltag wahr. Dies liegt auch im Eigeninteresse der FH Dortmund: Die Gewinnung von mehr Frauen und von mehr Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund insbesondere für technische Fächer, für technische Forschungsprojekte und als Beschäftigte steht hier im Fokus. Gleichzeitig wird hierdurch auch die Internationalisierung der Hochschule gestärkt. „Diversity“ bedeutet für die FH Dortmund aber nicht nur die Verfolgung von funktionalen Motiven, sondern es stehen auch Aspekte wie individuelle Horizonterweiterung und interessante Studien- und Arbeitsatmosphäre durch Begegnung mit Verschiedenheit und Vielfalt im Vordergrund.
Promotionskolleg
Das Promotionskolleg der Fachhochschule Dortmund wurde im Februar 2016 gegründet, um einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur qualitativen Verbesserung der Promotion in allen Handlungsebenen zu ermöglichen. Der Bedarf nach einer strukturellen und systematischen Unterstützung Aller an einer Promotion beteiligten wurde erkannt, da bereits seit Jahren die Anzahl der kooperativen Promotionen an der Fachhochschule Dortmund kontinuierlich steigt. Mit dem Promotionskolleg ist eine fachbereichsübergreifende Plattform geschaffen, die alle Promovierenden, Promotionsbetreuenden sowie Promotionsinteressierten der Fachhochschule Dortmund bei ihren individuellen Promotionsprojekten zur Seite steht. Hauptaufgabe ist die Weiterentwicklung und konzeptionelle Unterstützung von Promotionsprojekten, z. B. durch Workshops und Weiterbildungsangebote zur Optimierung von Planungsprozessen zur Promotion oder zur Vertiefung methodischer Basiskompetenzen. Das Promotionskolleg der Fachhochschule Dortmund kooperiert mit dem Graduierteninstitut NRW.
Lehre
Die Fachhochschule Dortmund bietet 36 Bachelor- und 19 Masterstudiengänge an, davon sind vier duale und drei internationale Studiengänge. Das Studiengangsangebot wird kontinuierlich inhaltlich und strukturell weiterentwickelt und diversifiziert, um auf die Änderungen der sozio-ökonomischen und individuellen Anforderungen zu reagieren und auch insbesondere für Studieninteressierte mit unterschiedlichen sozialen Voraussetzungen ansprechend zu sein. So hat die Fachhochschule Dortmund einen Paradigmenwechsel „from teaching to learning“ vollzogen und die dafür notwendige Infrastruktur einschließlich der didaktischen sowie organisatorischen Voraussetzung geschaffen.
Forschung und Transfer
Die Fachhochschule Dortmund setzt als große Fachhochschule im Ruhrgebiet mit ihrer Forschung und vielen Transferprojekten wichtige Impulse für die Region.
Internationalisierung
Die Fachhochschule Dortmund versteht sich als eine große regionale Hochschule in einer internationalen Bildungs-, Berufs- und Forschungslandschaft, als ein Fenster Dortmunds in die Welt und als ein Raum, in dem in Dortmund Internationalität erlebt und gelebt werden kann.
Gleichstellung
Die Verwirklichung von Gleichstellung ist für die Fachhochschule Dortmund eine Querschnittsaufgabe, die für Lehre, Forschung und Service ein Qualitätskriterium ist.

Partner in den Projekten

AMALTHEA4public

Unterstützung der modellbasierten Softwareentwicklung für eingebettete Multi-Core-Systeme

Guided Autonomous Locations

Aufbau einer webbasierten Smart Service Plattform für autonome, cyberphysische Gebäude

GeoSmaGriR: Smart Solar Geothermal Energy Grid Ruhr

Flexibles und dezentrales Einspeisen solarer und geothermischer Wärme in Wärmenetze

Managementprojekt: ruhrvalley Management Office

Mit dem Management Office als gemeinsame hochschulübergreifende Einrichtung der drei Hochschulen...

ruhrvalley, ein FH-Impuls

Mit dem ruhrvalley entsteht das transdisziplinäre und branchenübergreifende Kompetenzzentrum für...

NetLab: Vernetztes Entwicklungs- und Prüflabor

Entwicklung eines verteilten Prüfstand- und Entwicklungssystems für komplexe technische Systeme

Ruhr Master School

Mit der Ruhr Master School of Applied Engineering (RMS) können Sie die Vielfalt der...

EDEMA

Entwicklung und Testung von Lösungsansätzen im Bereich intelligenter Elektrizitätsnutzung

Guided Autonomic Building

Entwicklung von intelligenten autonomen Systemen in intelligenten Umgebungen

SiME

Systeminnovationen für Mobilität und Energie in der Metropole

ZIM Digitale Straße

Hochleistungssensorik mit Cloud-basierter Echtzeitdatenverarbeitung für digitale Straßen
Laden eines Elektroautos an einer Ladesäule

EMEL

Energiemanagement in metropolitanen eMobility-Ladeinfrastrukturen

ZIM ORC

Entwicklung eines Kleinkraftwerks zur Produktion von Strom, Wärme und Kälte aus Restwärme

SENSE

Semantisches, interoperables Smart Home