Metropolitane Systeme Partner // Westfälische Hochschule // Institute for Innovation Research and...

Institute for Innovation Research and Management

Innovation research at a university of applied sciences and innovation management for SMEs

Since 2010 the Institute for Innovation Research and Management (ifi) has been a central academic institution of the Westphalian University of Applied Sciences (formerly University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen). The ifi was founded at the request of the state government North Rhine-Westphalia as a spin-off of the Institute for Applied Innovation Research (IAI) at the Ruhr-University Bochum in order to establish innovation research in the field of universities of applied sciences.

It can therefore build on a 30 years long tradition in innovation research. Under the leadership of Prof. Dr. Bernd Kriegesmann former employees of the IAI ensure the necessary transfer of know-how.

Analysing, structuring and encouraging innovation processes at the ifi

Innovation has become the most frequently used catchphrase at the corporate, organisational and political level. Occasionally, the impression is created that expanding innovation rhetoric is becoming a substitute for real innovations.

The ifi starts its work beyond this programmatic alliance for innovation and deals with the creation and improvement of innovation processes. Characteristic for the work at the ifi is a research approach that combines academic developmental work and practice.

With this profile the ifi does

• research projects,

• scientific analysis,

• studies and

• workshops

for ministries, foundations, associations and companies.

Partner Westfälische Hochschule Institut für Innovationsforschung und...

Institut für Innovationsforschung und -management

Innovationsforschung an einer Fachhochschule und Innovationsmanagement für den Mittelstand

Das Institut für Innovationsforschung und -management (ifi) ist seit dem Jahr 2010 als zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Westfälischen Hochschule Gelsenkirchen Bocholt Recklinghausen (ehemals Fachhochschule Gelsenkirchen) tätig. Das ifi wurde auf Wunsch der Landesregierung Nordrhein-Westfalens als Spin-Off des Instituts für angewandte Innovationsforschung (IAI) e.V. – einem An-Institut der Ruhr-Universität Bochum – gegründet, um auch im Bereich der Fachhochschulen die Innovationsforschung fest zu etablieren.
Damit kann an eine über 30-jährige Tradition in der Innovationsforschung angeknüpft werden. Ehemalige Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des IAI unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Bernd Kriegesmann stellen dabei den erforderlichen Know-how-Transfer sicher.

Analyse, Gestaltung und Förderung von Innovationsprozessen am ifi
Innovation hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einem der am häufigsten gebrauchten Schlagworte auf Unternehmens-, Verbands- und politischer Ebene entwickelt. Gelegentlich entsteht der Eindruck, dass die expandierende Innovationsrhetorik zur Ersatzhandlung für echte Innovationen wird.
Das ifi setzt mit seiner Arbeit jenseits dieser programmatischen Allianz zur Innovation an und befasst sich wissenschaftlich mit der Gestaltung und Förderung von Innovationsprozessen. Charakteristisch für die Arbeiten des ifi ist dabei ein Forschungsvorgehen, das wissenschaftliche Entwicklungsarbeit mit der Anwendung verzahnt.

Mit diesem Profil führt das ifi
  • Forschungsprojekte,
  • wissenschaftliche Analysen,
  • Studien und
  • Workshops
für Ministerien, Stiftungen, Verbände und Unternehmen durch.