Projects // GeoSmaGriR: Smart Solar Geothermal... // GeoSmaGriR Geomechanical integrity of...

GeoSmaGriR Geomechanical integrity of heat stores in mines

Numerical simulations to predict the geomechanical behavior of the subsurface in heat storage in mines.

Central aspect of the foundation project 'GeoSmaGriR' is the storage of seasonal excess heat from district heating networks in mining buildings of disused coal mines. The seasonal supply of heat in and extraction of heat from underground storage results in a cyclic thermal load on the reservoir rocks and fluids.
For this, a geoscientific characterisation and thermo-hydromechanical modelling of the mine thermal store is required to allow reliable predictions about the long-term reservoir integrity in the context of seasonal heat storage. The objective of the SME project is to predict the geomechanical behavior of the subsurface during heat storage on the basis of existing geological investigations, voltage field measurements and large-scale thermo-hydraulic subsoil models.


The generic underground models for the Ruhr Carboniferous are transferred into numerical simulations based on the finite and advanced finite element method in order to take account of geological complexity. On the one hand, the expected temperature and pore pressure field around the injection point is simulated in large-scale models while on the other hand, changes in the stresses due to the thermal expansion of the rocks and the changed pore pressure are derived. From this, in turn, it is possible to locate elevations on the earth's surface and potentially geomechanical-critical areas in the 'Old Man' (decommissioned mine tunnel, which was not refilled properly) and the top layer and to derive the potential for the reactivation of existing fault zones or the formation of new ones. The first numerical models have been successfully tested. The interpretation of the results of fully coupled models is expected for the beginning of the second half of 2019.

Information on funding and further project participants

Funding code: 13FHOKO1IA

Logo forschung an fachhochschulen
Bmbf logo

Projekte GeoSmaGriR: Smart Solar Geothermal... GeoSmaGriR – Geomechanische...

GeoSmaGriR – Geomechanische Integrität von Grubenwärmespeichern

Numerische Simulationen zur Vorhersage des geomechanischen Verhaltens des Untergrundes bei der Wärmespeicherung in Bergwerken

Zentraler Aspekt des Fundament-Projektes "GeoSmaGriR" ist die Einspeicherung saisonal-bedingter Überschuss-Wärme aus Fernwärmenetzen in Grubengebäude des ehemaligen Steinkohlebergbaus. Aus der saisonalen Zuführung von Wärme in und Entnahme von Wärme aus untertägigen Speichern resultiert eine zyklische thermische Belastung der Reservoirgesteine und -fluide.

Model1 model2

Hierzu ist eine geowissenschaftliche Charakterisierung und thermohydro-mechanische Modellierung der Grubenwärmespeicher erforderlich, um zuverlässige Vorhersagen der langfristigen Reservoirintegrität im Kontext von saisonaler Wärmespeicherung zu ermöglichen. Ziel des KMU-Projektes ist, auf Grundlage von vorliegenden geologischen Untersuchungen, Spannungsfeldmessungen und großräumigen thermo-hydraulischen Untergrundmodellen das geomechanische Verhalten des Untergrunds bei Wärmeeinspeicherung zu prognostizieren.

Die generischen Untergrundmodelle für das Ruhrkarbon werden in numerische Simulationen, basierend auf der Finiten und erweiterten Finiten Elemente Methode übertragen, um der geologischen Komplexität Rechnung zu tragen. Zum einen wird in groß-skaligen Modellen das zu erwartende Temperatur- und Porendruckfeld um den Injektionspunkt simuliert und zum anderen Veränderungen der Spannungen aufgrund der thermischen Ausdehnung des Gesteins und des veränderten Porendrucks abgeleitet. Daraus lassen sich wiederum Hebungen an der Erdoberfläche und potentiell geomechanisch-kritische Bereiche im "Alten Mann" (stillgelegter Stollen, der nicht fachgerecht aufgefüllt wurde) und der Deckschicht lokalisieren und das Potential für die Reaktivierung vorhandener oder die Ausbildung neuer Störungszonen ableiten. Die ersten numerischen Modelle wurden erfolgreich getestet. Die Interpretation der Ergebnisse voll gekoppelter Modelle wird für den Beginn des zweiten Halbjahres 2019 erwartet.

Beteiligte ruhrvalley Partner

Informationen zur Förderung und weitere Projektbeteiligte

Förderkennzeichen: 13FHOKO1IA