RS1 Mobil

The fusion of car and bicycle revolutionises transportation over short and middle distances in the Ruhr Region.

The objective of project RS1 Mobil is to design a mobility concept, which closes the mobility gap between cars and bicycles by merging them into a “bicycle car.” A partial transformation of rush-hour traffic to alleviate overall traffic and improve the environment is possible if the disadvantages of both vehicles are removed. The “bicycle car” can be attractive to commuters in the Ruhr Metropolitan and Model Region and transform their mobility habits into a more sustainable and human mobility concept.

The Ruhr Metropolitan Region offers special opportunities in the fields of climate protection and the related areas of mobility and energy transformation, as well as the growing need for alternative intra-urban transportation solutions. The continuous expansion of bicycle path and highway infrastructure, such as the RS1, the first bicycle highway in Germany, has increased the potential demand for all-weather, multi-track, Pedelec-based, car-like vehicles.

A thorough analysis of relevant user groups will be used to determine the design of the vehicle and its components. Additionally, other areas being explored are the creation of an adequate production network and the technical and production feasibility of the vehicle.

The purpose of project RS1 is to scientifically assess the potential of this mobility solution “from the Ruhr Region, for the Ruhr Region” in order to drive forward the ampliation of bicycle-based mobility and contribute to the transformation of the mobility sector.

Project duration: 01 November 2019- 31 Oktober 2020

Information on funding and further project participants

Funding code: 13FH01521A

Logo forschung an fachhochschulen
Bmbf logo

Hero image   raw   red

RS1 Mobil

Die Fusion von Auto und Fahrrad revolutioniert den Mittel- und Kurzstreckenverkehr im Ruhrgebiet.

Im Projekt RS1 Mobil wird ein Mobilitätskonzept erarbeitet, welches die Mobilitätslücke zwischen Fahrrad und Auto mit deren Synthese zum „Fahrradauto“ schließen wird. Eine Teiltransformation des Berufsverkehrs zur Entlastung von Straßenverkehr und unserer Umwelt ist möglich, wenn die Nachteile beider Fahrzeugtypen eliminiert werden. Das „Fahrradauto“ kann Berufspendler*innen in der Metropol- und Modellregion Ruhr ansprechen und deren Mobilitätsgewohnheiten zu einer nachhaltigeren und menschlicheren Mobilität transformieren.


Content image   raw  red 1

In Sachen Klimaschutz, der damit verbundenen Mobilitäts- und Energiewende und dem wachsenden Bedürfnis nach alternativen innerstädtischen Verkehrslösungen bietet die Metropolregion Ruhr besondere Chancen. Durch den stetigen Ausbau der Radwegeinfrastruktur und der Radschnellwege, wie z.B. dem RS1, welcher der erste Radschnellweg der Republik ist, wächst das Nachfragepotenzial nach wettergeschützten, mehrspurigen, PKW-ähnlichen Fahrzeugen auf Pedelec-Basis stetig.

Durch eine umfassende Analyse relevanter Nutzergruppen wird die Konzeption des Fahrzeugs und der Komponenten ermittelt. Außerdem wird der Aufbau eines geeigneten Produktionsnetzwerkes und die technische Machbarkeit des Fahrzeugs und dessen Produktion untersucht.

Das Projekt RS1 Mobil dient dazu, das Potenzial dieser Mobilitätslösungen „aus dem Ruhrgebiet für das Ruhrgebiet“ wissenschaftlich zu erarbeiten, um so die Erweiterung des Mobilitätsangebots im Bereich der Velomobile voranzutreiben und zum Mobilitätswandel beizutragen.

Projektlaufzeit: 01. November 2019- 31. Oktober 2020

Beteiligte ruhrvalley Partner

Informationen zur Förderung und weitere Projektbeteiligte

Förderkennzeichen: 13FH01521A