Projects // PRETZEL

PRETZEL

Developing polymer electrolyte membrane electrolysis into a key technology for the storage of renewable energies

Project objective

Green hydrogen produced through electrolysis, when used as fuel, could become the crosslink between the energy sector, the industry and transportation, and thus become a key factor in the implementation of renewable energies. Polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) electrolysis is in this respect a promising technology. However, this technology has yet to achieve the key indicators regarding costs, efficiency, durability, and operability. The objective of the project team is to develop a 25kW PEM electrolysis system, and make advances in key areas, thus lowering production costs.

Computer graphic of the newly developed high-pressure PEM electrolysis stack
Computer graphic of the newly developed high-pressure PEM electrolysis stack

Project innovation

The new system is based on an innovative cell concept, which achieves a hydrogen production pressure of up to 100bar. The stack is assembled using the hydraulic single cell compression principle developed at the Westphalian University of Applied Sciences. Additionally, the team will realise improvements to the individual components, in order to make them operable in conditions of high temperatures and current density. Production costs can be reduced using base metal coatings on pole plates, and especial catalyst carrier materials to optimise the utilisation of noble metals. At the same time, the project aims to optimise the other components of the electrolysis system regarding costs and reliability. The hydrogen produced in the electrolysis process will be integrated into the laboratory infrastructure of one of the project partners and will be used, for example, in fuel cell testing stations.

To evaluate performance and operational parameters in a continuous way, the new stack system will be integrated into a test station. The project results will be evaluated and published in order to lay the groundwork for the technology’s market break-through.

Information on funding and further project participants

Funding code: 779478

Centre for Research and Technology Hellas
GKN Sinter Metals Engineering GmbH
Adamant Composites Ltd.
Eu nrw
Fuel Cell and Hydrogen 2 Joint Undertaking
Soluciones Cataliticas IBERCAT S.L.
ARMINES
Politehnica University Timisoara
DLR - German Aerospace Center

Projects // PRETZEL

PRETZEL

Weiterentwicklung der PEM-Wasserelektrolyse für die Speicherung regenerativer Energien

Projektziel

Grüner Wasserstoff, gewonnen durch Wasserelektrolyse, könnte als Energieträger eine wichtige Querverbindung zwischen dem Energiesektor, Industrie und Mobilität werden und damit einer der Schüsselfaktoren bei der Implementierung erneuerbarer Energien sein. Eine vielversprechende Technologie ist die Polymerelektrolytmembran (PEM) -Wasserelektrolyse. Allerdings erreicht diese Technologie bislang kaum die Schlüsselindikatoren hinsichtlich Kosten, Effizienz, Lebensdauer und Operabilität. Ziel des Projektteams ist es daher, ein in den entscheidenden Belangen weiterentwickeltes PEM-Wasserelektrolyse-System, ausgelegt auf 25 kW, zu entwickeln und dabei die Herstellungskosten zu senken, so dass es als Schlüsseltechnologie für die Speicherung regenerativer Energien genutzt werden kann.

Computergrafik des neu entwickelten Hochdruck-PEM-Elektrolyseur-Stacks
Computergrafik des neu entwickelten Hochdruck-PEM-Elektrolyseur-Stacks

Projektinnovation

Das neue System basiert auf einem innovativen Zellkonzept, das einen Wasserstoffproduktionsdruck von bis zu 100 bar ermöglicht. Bei der Herstellung des Stacks kommt das an der Westfälischen Hochschule entwickelte Prinzip der hydraulischen Einzelzellverpressung zum Einsatz. Zudem entwickelt das Projektteam die einzelnen Aktivkomponenten weiter, um sie auch bei hohen Temperaturen und bei hoher Stromdichte einsetzen zu können. Durch den Einsatz von unedlen Metallbeschichtungen im Bereich der Polplatten und speziellen Katalysatorträger-Materialien zur Steigerung der Edelmetallausnutzung soll eine Verringerung der Herstellungskosten erreicht werden. Gleichzeitig zielt das Projekt darauf ab, auch die übrigen Komponenten im Elektrolyseursystem hinsichtlich Kosten und Verlässlichkeit zu optimieren. Der Wasserstoff, der bei der Elektrolyse entsteht, wird in die Infrastruktur der Labore eines der Partner integriert und kann auf diese Weise etwa für Brennstoffzellen-Teststände weiterverwendet werden.

Um die Performance und operationalen Kriterien durchgängig zu evaluieren, wird das neue Stack-System in einen Teststand integriert. Die Projektergebnisse sollen ausgewertet und veröffentlicht werden, um die Marktdurchdringung dieser neuen Technologie vorzubereiten.

Zur Projekt-Website

Informationen zur Förderung und weitere Projektbeteiligte

Förderkennzeichen: 779478

Eu nrw
Adamant Composites Ltd.
Universitatea Politehnica Timisoara
GKN Sinter Metals Engineering GmbH
DLR - Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.
Soluciones Cataliticas IBERCAT S.L.
Fuel Cell and Hydrogen 2 Joint Undertaking
Centre for Research and Technology Hellas
ARMINES