Projects // IT-PEM

IT-PEM

Developing low-cost electrode systems based on improved iridium-titanium oxide catalyst layers to be used as anodes in PEM-electrolysis

Project objective

The energy transition process requires an expansion of the storage capacities built into the integrated grid to guarantee future security of supply despite a growing use of volatile renewable energy sources. In this regard, the production of hydrogen using polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) electrolysis presents an efficient alternative for energy storage. Currently, the use of complicated titanium structures and expensive iridium catalysts—particularly in the anode—are common, due to the high electrode potential and the related corrosion. The objective of the project is to develop and study a new type of electrode structure, which improves the utilisation of the catalyst materials and thus lowers the cost of producing the electrodes.


Project innovation

The innovative approach in this research project is based on an optimised electrode architecture, in which a titanium oxide nanoparticle coating is applied onto a porous titanium substrate that acts as carrier for electrochemically precipitated iridium particles. The improved electrode architecture increases the electrode surface, which in turn means that the noble metal catalyser can be used more effectively, and this reduces the costs of the electrodes for PEM electrolysis. Consequently, thanks to the simplified cell structure, the investment costs for PEM electrolysers are lowered and SMEs can find themselves in a position to successfully market this technology and establish new areas of business.

Cyclic voltammogram
Cyclic voltammogram of titanium nanoparticles, of iridium on titanium nanoparticles and a pure iridium disc in nitrogen-flushed 0.5M H2SO4, scan rate 100 mV s-1

The final objective is to develop a demonstration electrode system for electrolysis cells in a hydraulically pressed test system. Commercially available membranes and graphite-based cathodes are pressed together with the anodes in development in order to create the membrane electrode assemblies (MEA); their performance will then be compared with commercial electrode systems.

Information on funding and further project participants

Funding code: 19817BG

Mittweida University of Applied Sciences
Bmbf logo
Industrial Collective Research (IGF)
The German Federation of Industrial Research Associations (AiF)

Projects // IT-PEM

IT-PEM

Entwicklung kostengünstiger Elektrodensysteme auf Basis optimierter Iridium-Titanoxid-Katalysatorschichten für die Nutzung als Anode in der PEM-Wasserelektrolyse

Projektziel

Im Rahmen der Energiewende ist ein Ausbau der in das Verbundnetz integrierten Energiespeicher notwendig, um zukünftig die Versorgungssicherheit trotz eines größer werdenden Anteils volatiler regenerativer Energien zu ermöglichen. Eine effiziente Technologie zur Energiespeicherung durch Wasserstoffproduktion ist die Wasserelektrolyse auf Basis von Polymerelektrolytmembranen (PEM). Aufgrund hoher Elektrodenpotentiale und der damit einhergehenden Korrosion werden heute, insbesondere auf der Anode, aufwändige Titanstrukturen und teure Iridiumkatalysatoren verwendet. Ziel des Projektes ist die Entwicklung und Analyse einer neuartigen Elektrodenstruktur, um die Ausnutzung des Katalysatormaterials zu steigern und damit die Herstellungskosten entsprechender Elektroden zu senken.

Projektinnovation

Der innovative Ansatz dieses Forschungsprojektes basiert auf einer optimierten Architektur der Elektrode, bei der eine Titanoxid-Nanopartikel-Schicht auf ein poröses Titansubstrat aufgebracht wird, welche als Träger für elektrochemisch abgeschiedene Iridiumpartikel dient. Durch die optimierte Elektrodenarchitektur und somit erhöhte Oberfläche kann das Edelmetall-Katalysatormaterial effektiver genutzt und die Kosten für Elektroden in der PEM-Wasserelektrolyse reduziert werden. Somit kann das Investitionsvolumen für PEM-Elektrolyseure insgesamt reduziert und KMU in die Lage versetzt werden, diese Technologie aufgrund vereinfachter Zellstrukturen erfolgreich zu vermarkten und neue Geschäftsfelder zu etablieren.

Zyklische Voltammogramme
Zyklische Voltammogramme von Titan-Nanopartikeln, Iridium auf Titan-Nanopartikeln und einer reinen Iridiumscheibe in N2-gespülter 0,5 M H2SO4, Scanrate 100 mV s-1

Das abschließende Ziel ist die Entwicklung eines Demonstrator-Elektrodensystems zum Einsatz in Elektrolyseurzellen in einem hydraulisch verpressten Testsystem. Die zu entwickelnden Anoden werden dafür mit kommerziell verfügbaren Membranen und auf Graphit basierenden Kathoden zu Membran-Elektroden-Einheiten (MEA) verpresst und hinsichtlich ihrer Leistungsfähigkeit mit kommerziellen Elektrodensystemen verglichen.

Informationen zur Förderung und weitere Projektbeteiligte

Förderkennzeichen: 19817BG

Bmbf logo
Industrielle Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF)
Hochschule Mittweida
Arbeitsgemeinschaft industrieller Forschungsvereinigungen „Otto von Gueri­­­cke“ e.V. (AiF)