Projects // SCiLivLabs
Presentation of the connection and visualisation of the sensors, exemplified by the city-wide weather stations in the living lab Herne

SCiLivLabs

Interim study on Smart City Living Labs - Ruhr

Starting Point

The development of a smart city offers great potential for comprehensive and sustainable urban development and with it the opportunity to effectively diminish the use of resources, while at the same time improving the quality of life of the people living there. The energy and mobility transformation proves that to actually get there, cooperation and collaboration are a must: in order to press ahead with sustainable urban development, science, the private economy, and public institutions and municipal bodies have to work more closely and more systematically with one another.

ruhrvalley Solution

The project team is carrying out research on the development and detailed conception of smart city use cases. The objective of the interim study is to compile potentially replicable blueprints in the areas of smart city environment, smart mobility, and smart energy, using smart city living labs, prototypes and simulations.

Presentation of the research levels of the project SCiLivLabs. Embedding of digital twins in the level-based approach of the R&D projects SCiLivLabs.
Presentation of the research levels of the project SCiLivLabs. Embedding of digital twins in the level-based approach of the R&D projects SCiLivLabs.

In the preliminary study SCiLabs, a smart city research lab was initially established as a venue for collaboration for various smart city actors. The tethered components from smart city living labs, such as networked sensors, hardware and vehicles installed in urban areas for testing purposes, will be developed further in the interim study and complemented with additional data sources. Additionally, the project team links to the establishment of a smart city IT platform operating as a client-server, which collects, analyses, and processes the data from the living labs. Further into the project, the data thus gathered will become the basis for the design of smart environment, smart mobility and smart energy use cases.

A fundamental object of the interim study is to expand a smart city research lab, which should serve as a venue for integrative, interdisciplinary and intersectoral collaboration, for example, by organising workshops. Within this context, the main research topics should be smart environment, smart mobility and smart energy use cases, which can later be used as input for business cases. Because of the multiplicity and heterogeneity of the involved actors, the research project pursues comprehensive and integrative investigative approaches.

Key Areas

  • Living lab research in the areas of smart environment, smart mobility and smart energy using networked data sources such as sensors, hardware, and vehicles.
  • Development of a smart city IT platform to gather, analyse and process data, as well as for managing a smart city.
  • Establishment of a collaboration venue in the form of a smart city research lab to develop use and business cases with multiple smart city actors from various sectors and disciplines.

Information on funding and further project participants

Funding code: 13FH0I83IA

Bmbf logo
Logo forschung an fachhochschulen

Projects // SCiLivLabs
Darstellung der Anbindung und Visualisierung der Sensorik am Beispiel von stadtweit aufgebauten Wetterstationen im Reallabor Herne

SCiLivLabs

Zwischenstudie zu Smart City Living Labs - Ruhr

Ausgangspunkt

In der Entwicklung hin zu einer Smart City liegt großes Potential für eine ganzheitliche und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung und damit die Chance, den Ressourcenverbrauch effektiv zu mindern und zugleich die Lebensqualität der Menschen vor Ort zu steigern. Die Energie- und Mobilitätswende macht deutlich, dass es auf diesem Weg vor allem auf Kooperation und Kollaboration ankommt: Um die nachhaltige Entwicklung von Städten weiter voranzutreiben, müssen die Akteure aus den Sektoren Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft sowie aus öffentlichen Institutionen und städtischen Einrichtungen enger und systematischer zusammenarbeiten.

ruhrvalley Lösung

Innerhalb des Projekts forscht das Team an der Weiterentwicklung und Detailkonzeption von Smart City-Anwendungsfällen. Ziel der Zwischenstudie ist es, mithilfe von Smart‑City‑Reallaboren, ‑Prototypen und ‑Simulationen potenziell replizierbare Blaupausen in den Bereichen Smart Environment, Smart Mobility und Smart Energy zu erarbeiten.

Darstellung der Untersuchungsebenen des Forschungsprojekts SCiLivLabs. Einbettung von Digital Twins in Ebenen-basierte Herangehensweise des F&E-Projektes SCiLivLabs
© Hochschule Bochum
Darstellung der Untersuchungsebenen des Forschungsprojekts SCiLivLabs. Einbettung von Digital Twins in Ebenen-basierte Herangehensweise des F&E-Projektes SCiLivLabs

In der Vorstudie SCiLabs wurde bereits ein Smart-City-Forschungslabors als Kollaborationsort für verschiedene Smart-City-Akteure initial aufgebaut. Die dabei angebundenen Teile von Smart-City-Reallaboren wie vernetzte Sensoren, Geräte und Fahrzeuge, welche zu Testzwecken im urbanen Raum eingerichtet wurden, werden in der Zwischenstudie weiterentwickelt und um weitere Datenlieferanten ergänzt. Zudem knüpft das Projektteam an den Aufbau einer Smart-City-IT-Plattform im Client-Server-Betrieb an, die die in den Reallaboren gewonnenen Daten sammelt, analysiert und weiterverarbeitet. Die derart gewonnenen Daten bilden im weiteren Projektverlauf die Grundlage zur Konzeption von Smart Environment-, Smart Mobility- und Smart Energy Use Cases.

Ein wesentlicher Gegenstand der Zwischenstudie ist daher der weitere Ausbau eines Smart-City-Forschungslabors, welches etwa im Rahmen von Workshops als integrativer, interdisziplinärer und intersektoraler Kollaborationsort dienen soll. Dabei sollen vor allem Smart Environment-, Smart Mobility- und Smart Energy Use Cases erforscht werden, die später als Input für Business Cases dienen können. Vor dem Hintergrund der Vielzahl und Heterogenität der eigebundenen Akteure, verfolgt das Forschungsvorhaben ganzheitliche und integrative Untersuchungsansätze.

Innerhalb des ruhrvalley-Verbunds ist dieses Projekt Teil der Smart-City-Verbundprojekte "Smart City Sustainable Mobility" (SCiSusMob) und "Smart City Ecosystem" (SCitE).

Schwerpunkte

  • Reallabor-Untersuchungen in den Bereichen Smart Environment, Smart Mobility und Smart Energy mittels vernetzter Datenlieferanten wie z.B. Sensorik, Geräte und Fahrzeuge
  • Entwicklung einer Smart-City-IT-Plattform zur Datensammlung, -analyse und -weiterverarbeitung sowie zur Steuerung einer Smart City
  • Aufbau eines Kollaborationsortes in Form eines Smart-City-Forschungslabors zur Weiterentwicklung von Use- und Business Cases mit verschiedenen Smart-City-Akteuren unterschiedlicher Sektoren und Disziplinen

Informationen zur Förderung und weitere Projektbeteiligte

Förderkennzeichen: 13FH0I83IA

Bmbf logo
Logo forschung an fachhochschulen